Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Rock N Roll Hall of Fame: Class of 2010

Yesterday, the inductees for the Rock N Roll Hall of Fame 2010 ceremony were announced. Of the 12 nominees, five got in (or will be in on March 15, 2010). There were some disappointments (Kiss) and sighs of relief (LL Cool J). Overall, I personally think that the Hall of Shame has actually done a good job for 2010. Let's go into the inductees, shall we?

The progressive rock pioneers have finally gotten inducted into the Rock N Roll Hall of Fame. Original members Mike Rutherford (bass) and Tony Banks (keyboards) have both said they are a bit surprised by getting in but are honored. Both Rutherford and Banks stated that they have left March 15 empty but aren't sure whether they'll be performing or not. As to having Peter Gaberial and Steve Hackett reuniting with them, Rutherford and Banks still don't know. Phil Collins had surgery earlier this year which has made him unable to drum. Banks remarked that Collins may not be looking foward to playing early-1970's material (which means the material with Peter). As for Peter, Banks said they originally asked him to reunite with the band for their 2007 reunion tour. Gaberial was interested in performing all of The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway but nothing came of it.

The Stooges
After being nominated eight times, the Stooges are finally in the Hall. Iggy Pop has remarked that the induction is an emotional one. Earlier in January, guitarist Ron Asheton suddenly passed away. This left the reunited Stooges (since 2003 or later) on hiatus. Now, Iggy and the band getting everything back together. Of the four original members on their 1969 debut album, Pop and Scott Asheton (brother of Ron) are the only surviving original members left. Replacing Ron will be guitarist James Williamson. Williamson is no stranger to the band as he joined the Stooges on guitar back in 1971 when Iggy, Ron, and Scott got back together (original bassist Dave Alexander had left. He later died in 1976). The Stooges will be on tour. According to Iggy, there'll be certain dates where the band will play all of the Raw Power album.

Swedish pop sensation ABBA are another one of the five inductees for 2010. Benny Anderrson has stated he is shocked the group got inducted, being they make pop music, not rock. While Benny might be right, ABBA has made a impact on rock music. Don't be shocked: ABBA can be a guilty pleasure! As far as reuniting goes, Benny stated he says he doesn't think it will happen. The group have not performed in almost 30 years. Last year, the four were reunited for the Sewdish premire of Mamma Mia!

The Hollies

The Hollies have also made the cut this year. Graham Nash says that he and the other members are honored to be inducted.

Jimmy Cliff
Lastly, Jimmy Cliff will be inducted. Don't feel alone: I didn't know who this guy was at first! Cliff is a reggae singer. He's probably best known for appearing in the cult classic movie The Harder They Come.

Other inductees include Geffen Records owner David Geffen, Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil, Ellie Greenwich & Jeff Barry, Jesse Stone, Mort Shuman, and Otis Blackwell. The ceremony, once again, will take place on March 15, 2010!
I'll later compare the poll results...

No comments:

Post a Comment