Tuesday, January 8, 2013

David Bowie to release new studio album in March

While David Bowie might be turning 66 today, the singer/songwriter has much bigger news than this. It has been announced today that Bowie will release a new studio album. The album, The Next Day, will be Bowie's 24th studio album and his first since 2003's Reality. The album is scheduled for release in March. Here are the release dates

Australia- March 8
Everywhere except US- March 11
US- March 12

There will be two editions of the album released: a standard 14-track one and a deluxe edition with three bonus tracks. The tracking list for the album is as follows.

1. The Next Day
2. Dirty Boys
3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
4. Love Is Lost
5. Where Are We Now?
6. Valentine's Day
7. If You Can See Me
8. I'd Rather Be High
9. Boss of Me
10. Dancing Out in Space
11. How Does the Grass Grow?
12. (You Will) Set the World On Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat

The bonus tracks are...

15. So She
16. I'll Take You There
17. Plan

As a Bowie fan, I'm pretty excited to hear some new material from him. In all honesty, the "newest" album of his I own is Outside so I'll have to brush up on his last few albums though I doubt they'll sound anything like the new album. If you know Bowie, you know that the guy is a chameleon: he can do just about anything.

Another thing to note is that "Where Are We Now?" is up on iTunes as a single. You can watch the music video on YouTube and/or Vimeo. Personally, I think the song is just okay. I don't know what the rest of the album is going to be like but they could have chosen a better song. Still, it's great to hear and see David after all these years.

No comments:

Post a Comment