Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Rock N Roll Hall of Fame: Class of 2017

The Rock N Roll Hall of Fame announced the inductees for 2017. The ceremony will take place on April 7, 2017 in Brooklyn.

As for my thoughts on each of them....

Electric Light Orchestra
It's about damn time! Jeff Lynne and the gang were one of the most successful bands to come out of the 1970s- with hits such as "Do Ya?", "Don't Bring Me Down," "Telephone Line," "Evil Woman," and "Can't Get It Out of My Head."With Lynne in the all, that means all of the Traveling Wilburys have been inducted!

Members inducted: Bev Bevan, Jeff Lynne, Richard Tandy and Roy Wood

Joan Baez
How she wasn't inducted any earlier is a mystery. It seems that Steve Miller's efforts of ripping the Hall a new one has paid off. Baez, like Bob Dylan, was one of the most important singer/songwriters of her time.

I'm going to be honest: I really don't like Journey. I think they're overrated and they re overplayed on classic rock radio to the point where I just might hate them. However, they won the fan vote so that means they had to get in. To be fair, they probably should be in there: while dismissed by many as "corporate rock," Journey were very successful during the late 1970s and early 1980s.

Members inducted: Jonathan Cain, Aynsley Dunbar, Steve Perry, Gregg Rolie, Neal Schon, Steve Smith and Ross Valory.

Pearl Jam 
With their critically acclaimed debut now 25 years old, Pearl Jam were a shoo in to get inducted on their first nomination. While I can't say I'm a fan, I'm okay with them getting in. Along with Nirvana and a few others, Pearl Jam were one of the most successful grunge rock bnds during the height of the genre's popularity.

Members inducted: Jeff Ament, Matt Cameron, Stone Gossard, Dave Krusen, Mike McCready and Eddie Vedder.

After years and years of being snubbed, Yes are finally in the Hall of Fame. Progressive rock was at its peak in the early 1970s and Yes were one of the many bands to come from that era. While progressive rock was never a radio-friendly genre, the band were able to nab hits with "Roundabout," "I See All Good People," "Long Distance Runaround" and later in their career "Owner of a Lonely Heart."

Members inducted: Jon Anderson, Bill Bruford, Steve Howe, Tony Kaye, Trevor Rabin, Chris Squire, Rick Wakeman and Alan White. It seems that the Hall has decided to induct the classic line-ups and all of the original members- with the exception of the late Peter Banks.

While Chic were turned down once again, Nile Rodgers is being awarded for Musical Excellence. With this, it seems the Hall will finally stop nominating Chic after being nominated a whopping ELEVEN times.

Oh...and some dead rapper is getting inducted too.


No comments:

Post a Comment