Tuesday, December 14, 2010

New York Dolls announce release of new studio album

There might be only two original members left in the New York Dolls but that doesn't stop them from touring and making music. Recently, it has been announced that the band will release their fifth studio album. The album, Dancing Backward in High Heels, is set for released on March 15, 2011. This marks the band's first album since 2009's Cause I Sez So. The New York Dolls have been reunited since 2006, with the release of the critically praised reunion album One Day It Will Please Us To Remember Even This. The two surviving members of the band are singer David Johansen and guitarist Sylvain Sylvain. Original members guitarist Johnny Thunders, bassist Arthur Kane, and drummers Billy Murica and Jerry Nolan are all dead. Johansen and Sylvain continue to tour with Hanoi Rocks bassist Sami Yaffa, guitarist Steve Conte, and drummer Brian Delaney.

This is very surprising news. It's been only half a year since Cause I Sez So was released and now we got another album. I know there are many fans of the original Dolls who do not approve of the reformed Dolls. Many fans would rather have this reformed version change their name to anything except the New York Dolls. This is my opinion: it's a shame that Johnny, Arthur, Jerry, and Billy are no longer with us. However, there is a younger generation of fans who'd like to see the Dolls. I approve of this reunion because I believe that David and Sylvain truly love this music. Sure it isn't like the 70's material but I'd take the Dolls over any of today's crap. I will buy this album, for sure!

No comments:

Post a Comment