Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Rock Recap: Pink Floyd and the Rolling Stones

It seems that there is a lack of news this month or it's just that I haven't found anything worth writing about in greater detail. So I'm going to give an overview of a few things that have happened this month, which I may or may not have mentioned before here or on the Facebook page.

Pink Floyd
It was announced back in July that there will soon be a new Pink Floyd studio album. The album, The Endless River, will be the band's first studio album since 1994's The Division Bell. While this is all exciting, it should be noted that the material on the album was recorded around the time that the band were recording The Division Bell. This wasn't meant to be a Pink Floyd album but rather a separate project, with the sessions dubbed as The Big Spliff. These sessions will be released but with newly recorded music from David Gilmour and Nick Mason. The album will also feature some of the late Richard Wright's final work. The Endless River will be released November 10. As with most releases day, there are many different versions of the album to choose from Click here to pre-order the standard single disc edition.

Tracking list

1. Things Left Unsaid
2. It's What We Do
3. Ebb and Flow
4. Sum
5. Skins
6. Unsung
7. Anisina
8. The Lost Art of Conversation
9. On Noodle Street
10. Night Light
11. Allons-y (1)
12. Autumn '68
13. Allons-y (2)
14. Talkin' Hawkin
15. Calling
16. Eyes to Pearls
17. Surfacing
18. Louder Than Words

The Rolling Stones
The Rolling Stones will be releasing two filmed concerts in November. While I originally posted on Facebook that there would one concert, it turns out there'll be another. The two concerts in question are Hampton Coliseum and L.A. Friday (now L.A. Forum for the DVD), which were the second and third entries of the Stones Archive/Bootleg Collection- all of which were released on the band's own site and Google Play. Hampton Coliseum will be released on November 4 while L.A. Forum will be released on November 18. The concerts will be released on DVD and Blu-Ray, along with the optional CD and vinyl bundles of the shows.

I reviewed both concerts when they were up on Google Play in 2012. They still are for just  $4.99, which I'm sure is much cheaper than the price you'll pay for the DVDs. I'll probably get both concerts on DVD only.

Click here to read the reviews on the shows.

No comments:

Post a Comment